1. Travel
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Countries of Eastern Europe


15 of 15

Albania, Kosovo, Macedonia
Lake Ohrid, Macedonia

Lake Ohrid, Macedonia

Three small countries occupy a geographical area in Southeastern Europe. These are Albania, Kosovo, and Macedonia.


Albania has both a sea coast and mountains perfect for skiing, and these two elements have helped Albania's tourism industry to keep growing. For a special look at Albanian culture, Gjirokastra is designated a museum city for its preservation of a way of life.


Kosovo has declared it independence from Serbia, and many nations, including the United States, have recognized this status. However, the issue is still contentious. The world waits to see if Kosovo and Serbia can settle their differences. Kosovo's capital is Pristina.


The Republic of Macedonia is a small Southeastern European nation bordered by Greece, Serbia, Bulgaria, and Albania. Ohrid and Skopje are two attractive travel destinations in Macedonia.

Explore the other countries of Eastern Europe by clicking on the following links, which will take you to photos, maps, and travel information about each country:

Russia | Czech Republic | Poland | Hungary | Romania and Moldova | Croatia | Lithuania, Latvia, and Estonia | Slovenia | Slovakia | Bulgaria | Ukraine and Belarus | Serbia | Montenegro, Bosnia and Herzegovina

  1. About.com
  2. Travel
  3. Eastern Europe Travel
  4. Eastern Europe Destinations
  5. Albania, Kosovo, Macedonia

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.